Home


Credit by Demonstrated Mastery
Parents and Students Main Page
Additional Pages:
Parent Portal
Credit by Demonstrated Mastery
Credit by Demonstrated Mastery (CDM)

Beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, Credit by Demonstrated Mastery (CDM) was introduced as an option for obtaining high school course credit for standard level courses (Honors level and Advanced Placement (AP) level courses are excluded) in North Carolina. CDM is the process by which a local school system shall, based upon a body of evidence, award a student credit in a particular high school course without requiring the student to complete classroom instruction.

To earn credit for a high school course and by-pass the seat time requirements, students shall demonstrate mastery for the course through a two-phase process:

Phase I: A standard examination
-End of Course (EOC) Exam - Level V
-Career and Technical Education (CTE) Post Assessment - 93% or better
-Non-EOC/CTE Assessment - 94% or better

Phase II: An artifact
-A project that demonstrates the student's deep understanding of the content standards
-Artifacts of any type may be assigned - ranging from three-dimensional to paper-based to electronic to oral interviews.

Please see links below for further information.

You may access all of the below links HERE

CDM Parent Letter January 2017
CDM Parent Letter Spanish January 2017

CDM Spring Timeline 2017
CDM Information Sheet
CDM Student Family Agreement
CDM Student Family Agreement - Spanish
CDM Brochure 1
CDM Brochure 2
CDM Family Process Chart
CDM Frequently Asked Questions
CDM Student and Parent PowerPoint Presentation
CDM List of Eligible Courses

Contacts:
Kim Johnson - Director of Secondary Education
k4johnson@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-318-6040

Eastern Randolph High School
Ryan Brown - Counselor
rbrown@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-824-2351

Providence Grove High School
Jane Porter - Counselor
jporter@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-685-0728

Randleman High School
Jill Hays - Counselor
jhays@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-498-2682

Randolph Early College High School
Breanne Blackmon - Counselor
bblackmon@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-625-1137

Southwestern Randolph High School
Tina Trotter - Counselor
ttrotter@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-381-7747

Trinity High School
Katy Gant - Counselor
kgant@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-861-6870

Wheatmore High School
Sheila Dunphy-Atkins - Counselor
sdunphy-atkins@randolph.k12.nc.us
336-476-1500

Current 8th Graders (Rising freshmen for 2017-2018 school year)...Please contact your school's guidance counselor for more information concerning available options for Credit for Demonstrated Mastery.

 

Address